-

Nightsongs - Independent Little Lies

The steel industry has been part of the visual and auditory landscape of the city of Esch-sur-Alzette and the Luxembourg and Lorraine mining basin for more than 100 years. Sound pollution for some, the soundtrack of part of their lives for others, the song of machines consisting of the hiss and lamentation of bridge cranes and the roar of operating metal mechanisms fills the night with its melancholic, sometimes threatening and always subtle presence.


The Nightsongs project takes this contemporary nocturnal soundscape as its point of departure and the raw material for a series of electronic compositions exploring the different facets and activities of the night, their poetic dimension and how they relate to the history of the steel industry in the region. By using the field recording technique, the sounds and sound prints of industrial sites, both in operation (ArcelorMittal Belval) and idle (Metzeschmelz & FerroForum in Esch-Schifflange), in southern Luxembourg were recorded, mapped and edited to constitute a library of sounds and samples that have become the component parts of the sound and musical elements of the project.

The Nightsongs sound installation uses Mad Trix's ambisonic "Trinity" multichannel system to present an immersive auditory experience of sound excerpts from the project, thus placing conscious listening at the centre of the visitor-listener's approach. Like a sound machine for time travel, the installation takes visitors-listeners through different temporalities and soundscapes while inviting them to live in the soundscape that is created around them.


Music and sound excerpts: Ryvage (Samuel Reinard), Mudaze, Pascal Schumacher, Twin XXA (…) Denis Jousselin, Sophie Langevin, Elsa Rauchs, Claire Wagener

Text: Samuel Reinard

Field recordings: Oliver Lang, Samuel Reinard

Additional sound recordings: Claude Schlim, Samuel Reinard

Mixing: Cedric Fischer, Samuel Reinard, Oli Lang

Artistic design and creation: Samuel Reinard

Production managers: Jill Christophe, Claire Wagener. Production and communication assistant: Sara Goerres


A production of Independent Little Lies - ILL in collaboration with Kulturfabrik Esch-sur-Alzette, Konschthal/Bridderhaus, Les Ensembles 2.2, Madtrix, CNA, FerroForum and Portable Peninsula asbl. In the framework of the Esch2022, European Capital of Culture, with the support of the Ministry of Culture, the Indépendance foundation, SACEM Luxembourg, the City of Esch-sur-Alzette and frEsch asbl.

Categories

Esch2022, Art, Culture & Literature, Music Festivals

Dates for this event

Thursday, 08 December 2022 - 11h00
Friday, 09 December 2022 - 11h00
Saturday, 10 December 2022 - 11h00
Thursday, 15 December 2022 - 11h00
Friday, 16 December 2022 - 11h00
Saturday, 17 December 2022 - 11h00
Thursday, 22 December 2022 - 11h00
Friday, 23 December 2022 - 11h00
Saturday, 24 December 2022 - 11h00
Thursday, 29 December 2022 - 11h00
Friday, 30 December 2022 - 11h00
Saturday, 31 December 2022 - 11h00
Thursday, 05 January 2023 - 11h00
Friday, 06 January 2023 - 11h00
Saturday, 07 January 2023 - 11h00
Thursday, 12 January 2023 - 11h00
Friday, 13 January 2023 - 11h00
Saturday, 14 January 2023 - 11h00
See all